Monday, May 24, 2010

Six soldiers kill Captain desert to Indo-Burma border

Bandarban, Bangladesh: Six Burmese soldiers deserted the army and fled to the Indo-Burma border on May 17 at noon, after killing a Burmese Army officer following an enmity, said official sources.

Six Burmese soldiers carrying sophisticated arms and ammunition fled to the Indo-Burma border after killing Captain Hlet Aung Htun, who was the camp-in-charge of Mritwa outpost under the Paletwa Township, Chin State, Burma, the source said.

They are all from LIB 232 based in Akyab, the capital of Arakan State.

The soldiers who deserted are Corporal Than Aye, Lance Corporal Zaw Zaw Han, Lance Corporal Maung Maung Naing, Lance Corporal Moe Aung, San Win and Zaw Min Oo.

The soldiers killed the Captain Htet Aung Htun and fled because he harassed them in various ways.

Earlier, many soldiers had deserted the army due to harassment of common soldiers by officers.

Major Kyaw Moe Hein is the Deputy Commander of LIB 232 and Lt. Col Maung Maung Lwin is the Battalion Commander. There are nine army officers and 87 soldiers in the Mritwa outpost. It is near the Indian border.

1 comment: