Thursday, January 22, 2009

BRC, Khadoor Sahib and Birsa Munda in q-finals

A league match in progress between Birsa Munda, Rourkela, and Mehta Gurukul School, Doraha, in Jalandhar on Tuesday.

Bihar Regimental Centre (Danapur), Birsa Punda School (Rourkela) and Baba Gurmukh Singh Uttam Singh School (Khadoor Sahib) qualified for quarter-finals of the 5th All- India Balwant Singh Kapur Hockey Tournament being played at the Olympian Surjit Hockey Stadium here today.

Today in the last league matches

Baba Gurmukh Singh Uttam Singh School, Khadoor Sahib, routed St Ignatius School of Gumla by 4-0 in a league outing. In Bikramjit Singh put Khadoor Sahib in the lead in the fifth minute. Maintaining their pressure. Varun Kumar consolidated consolidated the lead in the 18th minute.. At hald time winners were leading by 2-0. Inderjit Singh further increased the lead with a field goal in the 54th minute. One minute later, Varun Kumar completed the winners' tally (4-0).

BRC Danapur overcame a stiff resistance from Government School Jharsa ( Gurgaon) in a well-contested league fixture by 3-2. The Gurgaon boys took the lead with Rohit Malik finding the object in the 13th minute. In the 40th minute J Harinz of Danapur equalized (1-1). Two minutes later the Danapur gained the lead through Rakesh Roshan. In the 51st minute Jagannath of Danapur scored the third goal for the team. In the 57th minute Rohit Malik of Gurgaon reduced the margin ( 2-3).

In the third match Birsa Munda School of Rourkela outplayed Mehta Gurukul School of Doraha by 5-1. The scorer for the winners were Vikas Khajur (8th and 24th), Arvun Barla (30th)inute, Suresh Toppo (12th ) and Amit (34th). Jatinder Singh scored the solitary goal for Mehta Gurukul School in the14th minute.
The quarter-finals will be played tomorrow.

No comments:

Post a Comment